The Le Cajun Award and Festival is a unique three day event that features an awards ceremony honoring the best in Cajun music and Cajun musicians and includes a two-day dance festival with award winning Cajun bands providing the music.

The Grammy style awards ceremony, sponsored by the Cajun French Music Association (CFMA) includes awards for Band of the Year, Best Accordionist, Best Fiddler, Best Male and Female Vocalist, Song of the Year and Best Recording of the Year. Cajun bands from outside Louisiana including Europe are also recipients of awards.
Event Information


Le Cajun Schedule for
August 20-21 & 22, 2015

Thursday Night: La Poussiere-Breaux Bridge, La.

Doors Open @ 5PM—Program Starts @ 6PM

Music by young musicians

French Speaking Plaques from the Contest, Chapter Awards and New Dawn Awards--- No Charge---Free Admission


Friday Night: Awards Night-Rayne, La.

 Music By: Jackie Caillier, Ivy Dugas and the Cajun Cousins

Doors Open @ 5:30 PM---Show Starts @ 7:00PM

Food will be sold.

$7.00 per person---Age 12 & under Free.


Saturday: Doors Open @ 9:00AM---Music @ 10:00AM

Food will be sold.

Admission--$10.00 per person---Age 12 & under Free.

10AM-11:45 AM—Huval Family Band

12 Noon-1:45PM –Robert Jardell & Pure Cajun

 2PM—3:45 PM—Jr. Hebert & the Maurice Playboys

4PM—6:00 PM—Kevin Naquin & the Ossun Playboys

 Questions Contact: Ken Walker @ 337-344-2494               

Le Cajun Awards

2014 Winners

Accordionist of the Year

Travis Matte

Fiddler of the Year

Courtney Granger

Female Vocalist


Male Vocalist of the Year

Travis Matte

Best First Album or CD by a Band

La Recolte
"Who's Gonna Fill Their Shoes"

Song of the Year

Travis Matte
"Heaven Sent"

Album or CD of the Year

Travis Matte
"Old Time Cajun Songs"

Band of the Year

Travis Matte

People's Choice Award

Ray Abshire
"All Night Long"

Hall of Fame Inductees

Lee Benoit
Felton Le Jeune
Wallace “Red” Touchet
August Broussard

New Dawn Award

Corinne Fruge
Lucy Rhymes
Jacob Verzwyvelt
Mathew Meaux

Excellence Award

Henry Hample

Continuing Contribution Award

Larry’s French Market and Cajun Restaurant

Appreciation Award

Mack Joseph Manuel

Heritage Award

Mary L. Naquin

Pioneer Award

Clifton Joseph "Cliff" Newman

Prix d'Hors

Cajun Roosters
"Hell Yeah"
From Germany & England


Copyright 2008 CFMA
Powered By

Graphic Details Digital Media